​Partnerships which have produced major works of distinctive creative vision in all its manifestations.

Photo: Archie Moore, Black Dog, 2013, taxidermy dog,
shoe polish, raven oil, leather, metal, 70.00 x 73.00 x 32.00 cm (detail).

UniSA Jeffrey Smart Commission

A new commission established in 2022 to provide opportunities for Australian arts practitioners to develop a major new work, or body of works, culminating in an exhibition at the Samstag Museum of Art.

The Commission is awarded by the University of South Australia through its Samstag Museum of Art in recognition of the late Jeffrey Smart, an alumnus of the South Australian School of Art. The Commission will be available via application or invitation to alumni of UniSA and its antecedents, Aboriginal practitioners, and Samstag Scholars from any creative discipline, including film, performance, visual arts, craft, design, or architecture.

The inaugural UniSA Jeffrey Smart Commission has been awarded to Archie Moore (Kamilaroi/Bigambul), Queensland, Class of 2001 Samstag Scholar.

Archie Moore will present a new moving image work for an exhibition at Samstag with the Adelaide Film Festival in 2024. Moore’s commission and associated exhibition will follow the artist’s eagerly anticipated showing at the prestigious Venice Biennale 2024.

Applications for the 2024 UniSA Jeffrey Smart Commission Close June 30, 2024

Guidelines for applicants 2024 – 2027

Apply here



Samstag Museum of Art in partnership with the Adelaide Film Festival supports the development and presentation of bold and innovative screen based works by artists and screen creators through a range of comissioning. Established in 2007, this special partnership has produced major works of distinctive creative vision that explore the moving image in all its manifestations. The major works produced as part of the Commission have premiered in the Samstag Museum and form an integral role in the Adelaide Film Festival program.

2022  / Soda Jerk: Hello Dankness

2021  / Madison Bycroft: BIOPIC or Charles Geneviève Louis Auguste André Timothée

2020 / Amos Gebhardt: Small Acts of Resistance

2018 / Molly Reynolds & Rolf de Heer: The Waiting Room

2017  / Trent Parke & Narelle Autio: The Summation of Force 

2015 / Hossein Valamanesh: Char Soo

2013 / Daniel Crooks: Pan No. 11 Cross Platform Transfer

2011 / Warwick Thornton: Stranded

2009 / Lynette Wallworth: Duality of Light


Samstag Museum of Art, University of South Australia, acknowledges the Kaurna people as traditional custodians of the land upon which the Museum stands.