15 August 2013

Dr Elizabeth BlackburnThe University of South Australia will honour the international scientific contribution of Australian-born Nobel Laureate Dr Elizabeth Blackburn by establishing a $10,000 Fellowship for early career women researchers in her name.

The University of South Australia Elizabeth Blackburn Fellowship will be officially launched by UniSA’s Chancellor Dr Ian Gould at an event at City West campus next Tuesday August 20 – the night before Dr Blackburn delivers the 16th Annual Hawke Lecture for the University.

Dr Blackburn will be present at the Fellowship launch, at which she will be conferred an Honorary Bragg Membership by the Governor of South Australia, Rear Admiral Kevin Scarce, on behalf of the Royal Institution of Australia.

Dr Blackburn is Australia’s only female Nobel Laureate and has been named one of the 100 most influential people in the world (Time, 2007) for research which revolutionised understanding of the key factors that attribute to ageing and human mortality.

Her research opened the door to new understanding of telomeres – the end of chromosomes – and discovery of telomerase – the replenishing enzyme that influences the human lifespan, challenging conventional thinking about the ageing process.

It is this insight into the ‘bio-future’ which will be the focus of the Annual Hawke Lecture, to be held in conversation format with the ABC Science Show’s Robyn Williams, next Wednesday August 21 at 6pm at the Adelaide Town Hall.

Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre Executive Director Ms Elizabeth Ho says UniSA is delighted to bring Dr Blackburn to Adelaide next week for the Annual Hawke Lecture and the Fellowship launch.

Ms Ho says the Elizabeth Blackburn Fellowship will give early career women scientists at UniSA the opportunity to gain international research experience.

“The Fellowship will be for women scientists working in the biomedical, clinical and public health research areas with an interest in cancer and will be awarded biennially,” Ms Ho says.

“Recipients of the Fellowship will receive six months’ leave on full pay, a return airfare and $10,000 in research support funding. It’s a fantastic opportunity to gain substantial experience in an international research environment by spending a minimum of six months in a leading centre outside of UniSA.”

The Honorary Bragg Membership is the highest and most prestigious category of membership at RiAUS and includes an exclusive cohort of eminent scientists, including Professor Sir Gustav Nossal.

Media note: Media are welcome attend the Fellowship launch– contact Kelly Stone for details.

Media contact: Kelly Stone office 8302 0963 mobile 0417 861 832 email Kelly.stone@unisa.edu.au

Other articles you may be interested in