28 May 2024

Adelaide_Universitycomp.jpgThe Chancellor, Transition Council and co-Vice Chancellors of Adelaide University are pleased to share that the new institution has received registration from the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) as an Australian University higher education provider, and for the maximum possible period of seven years.  

Adelaide University co-Vice Chancellors, Professor David Lloyd and Professor Peter Høj AC, said this is a significant milestone in the creation of the new university for South Australia. 

“This is an important step forward in the formal regulatory process and provides absolute confidence in our stated ambition as we prepare to launch the nation’s new for-purpose university.” Professors Lloyd and Høj said. 

“It has been a thorough process and we thank the Regulator for their collaborative and professional approach in working with our teams.  

“Adelaide University has a compelling reason to exist – to enable educational excellence, equitable access, and excellent research become a driving force for good with impact that transcends borders – and we look forward to taking the new institution to the world.” 

Adelaide University was officially established under State legislation in March 2024 to become a destination of choice for new generations of learners and talented researchers. The future-focused university will combine the strengths of the University of South Australia and the University of Adelaide to deliver nation-leading curriculum and student experience, greater access to education, and world-class research excellence.   

TEQSA approvals signify that the new university has the robust governance and academic provisions in place to meet the independent regulator’s registration requirements.  

The University of Adelaide and University of South Australia welcomed news of Adelaide University’s TEQSA registration as an endorsement of the program of work underway between the institutions to enact the delivery of the new University for its opening in January 2026. 

Media contacts:

Crispin Savage M: +61 481 912 465 E: Crispin.savage@adelaide.edu.au

Megan Andrews M: +61 434 819 275 E: Megan.andrews@unisa.edu.au

Other articles you may be interested in