16 April 2019

Dr Rosemary Bryant, AO, Australia’s first Commonwealth Chief Nurse and Midwifery Officer and advocate for the vital role of nursing and midwifery expertise in the health system, will be made an honorary doctor of UniSA today.

Namesake of the Rosemary Bryant AO, Research Centre run at UniSA in partnership with the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation (SA Branch), Rosemary has been a career-long advocate for the role of nursing in the health care system and an advocate for evidence-based research in nursing and midwifery.

As Commonwealth Chief nurse she advised the Minister for Health and the Department of Health on the nursing and midwifery workforce and policy development.

Dr Bryant led the Royal College of Nursing, Australia as its executive director and represented Australia on nursing at the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and as part of the Australian delegation to the World Health Assembly.

A distinguished Life Fellow of the Australian College of Nursing, she holds Honorary Life Membership of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation (SA Branch), is Emerita Director of Nursing at Royal Adelaide Hospital and was President of the International Council of Nurses from 2009 to 2013.

She also chairs the Steering Committee of the Rosemary Bryant AO Research Centre and is a member of the NPS MedicineWise Board.

Commending her achievements, Vice Chancellor Professor David Lloyd says Dr Bryant has worked tirelessly to build more recognition for nurses and the value of nursing practice in health care.

About 3500 students will graduate from the University of South Australia in April in ceremonies from April 16 to 26. The University will award seven honorary doctorates, name two University Fellows and award three Emeritus Professorships.

UniSA media contact: Michèle Nardelli phone: +61 418 823 673 or +61 882960854 email: michele.nardelli@unisa.edu.au



Other articles you may be interested in