UniSA Names Inaugural Michael Miller Medal Winner

Former UniSA PhD researcher Dr David Haley, now employed by wireless network systems company Cohda Wireless, has been named the inaugural winner of the University of South Australia’s Michael Miller Medal.

Created by UniSA in 2005, the award recognizes the best PhD research graduate from the Institute for Telecommunications Research (ITR) each year. Research creativity, originality, significance and utility are key criteria for the awards.

The medal’s namesake is Emeritus Professor Michael Miller, who was the founding Director of the Institute for Telecommunications Research (ITR), now one of UniSA’s largest research institutes focused on research in satellite and terrestrial wireless communications.

Dr Haley’s PhD research examined ways of efficiently coding information sent over wireless networks.

Coding is used to ensure that errors introduced by the complex transmission environment in a modern communications system can be detected and overcome.

ITR Director Professor Andrew Parfitt said that Dr Haley’s work showed mastery of a whole new coding area.

“While there were a number of excellent candidates, Dr Haley’s work stood out because of its breadth of concept and its potential impact on the discipline,” Prof Parfitt said.

Dr Haley currently works for ITR spin-off company Cohda Wireless where he is applying his considerable expertise.

Emeritus Professor Michael Miller is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. He was awarded a the Centenary Medal for service to Australian society in space science and technology in 2003 and across his career received many accolades including the M A Sargent medal for Australia’s most outstanding Electrical Engineer, the British Institute of Electrical Engineers Sir Lionel Hooke award and Australian Professional Engineer of the Year in 1995.

Today he is a member of the Board of m.Net Corporation, a Board member of the Australia-Korea Foundation and convenor of the annual Australia Korea Broadband Summit series.