Students' triple triumph

Early February brought a hat trick for ITR students, as they took out three big awards in their fields of research.

Dr Reza Arablouei has won the University of South Australia Ian Davey Prize for his thesis entitled ‘Reduced-Complexity Adaptive Filtering Techniques for Communications Applications.’  This prize is awarded to the most outstanding research thesis within the University, passed and leading to a Doctor of Philosophy in the preceding year.

This is not the first time an ITR student has won this UniSA-wide award.  ITR alumnus Dr Ben Johnson won the Ian Davey Thesis Prize for 2009, with a thesis titled ‘Spatial and spatio-temporal adaptive signal processing under low training sample volume conditions’.

Second up, Bao Nguyen won the award for Best Student Poster, at the Australian Communications and Theory Workshop held at Macquarie University in February.  Bao’s poster was titled 'Frame-Asynchronous Physical-Layer Network Coding using Cyclic Codes'.

Having already won the UniSA 3MT competition in 2013, ITR student Demi Gao has triumphed again. In February, she won the DSTO Award for Best Student Oral Presentation at the Australian Workshop on Computational Neuroscience (NeuroEng 2014), held in Adelaide. Demi spoke about her research on stochastic information transfer in cochlear implants.

ITR Acting Director Mr Jeff Kasparian congratulated the students on their success: “your achievements are based clearly on attention to excellence in your studies”, he said.