2013 Michael Miller Medal Awarded

ITR student Jeewani Kodithuwakku has been awarded the University of South Australia's Michael Miller Medal

Created by UniSA in 2005, the award recognizes the best PhD research graduate from the Institute for Telecommunications Research (ITR) each year. Research creativity, originality, significance and utility are key criteria for the awards.

The medal’s namesake is Emeritus Professor Michael Miller, who was the founding Director of the Institute for Telecommunications Research (ITR), now one of UniSA’s largest research institutes focused on research in satellite and terrestrial wireless communications.

Dr Kodithuwakku's PhD research examined methods of time synchronisation in multiuser CDMA communications. She has developed expert knowledge in the development and application of code-aided synchronisation for communication systems.

She was supervised by Dr Robby McKilliam, Prof Alex Grant and Dr Nick Letzepis. Her knowledge was expanded by a 3 month visit to the University of Ghent during her PhD where she worked with experts in this field such as Dr Nele Noels and Prof Marc Moeneclaey.

Jeewani's thesis makes a significant contribution to our understanding of iterative, code-aided, synchronisation for communication systems. The techniques are important in modern communication systems and in particular for multi-user sensor network applications that developed at the Institute for Telecommunications Research. The mathematical tools developed enhance our ability to construct future generation communication systems.

The award was presented at the Industry Breakfast of the School of Information Technology & Mathematical Sciences by the Head of School, Professor Andy Koronios, and the Acting Director - ITR, Dr Gottfried Lechner.