unisa logo

Browse staff at the School of Creative Industries

School leadership

Associate Professor Paula GeldensHead of School
+618 8302 4854 (Personal Assistant)

Associate Professor Jodie George, Associate Head of School: Teaching
+618 8302 4162

Dr Katrina Jaworski, Associate Head of School: Research
+618 8302 4533

Professor Adrian FranklinResearch Director
+618 8302 4789

Professor Susan LuckmanResearch Director
+618 8302 4152

Associate Professor Angela ScarinoResearch Director
+618 8302 4775

Mrs Mel Friend, School Manager
+618 8302 4181

Program Directors


Bachelor of Arts: Dr Jonathan Crichton
Bachelor of Arts (Indigenous Cultures and Australian Society): Dr Karen Sinclair
Bachelor of Communication and Media: Ms Rebecca Somerfield
Bachelor of Creative Industries: Dr Carolyn Bilsborow
Bachelor of Journalism and Professional Writing: Prof Kerry Green
Bachelor of Media Arts: Dr Josh McCarthy
Bachelor of Music: Mr Peter Nielsen


Bachelor of Arts (Honours): Dr Saige Walton
Bachelor of Arts (Honours) James Morrison Academy: Mr Peter Nielsen


Graduate Certificate in Compositing and Tracking: Dr Josh McCarthy
Graduate Certificate in Dynamic Effects and Lighting: Dr Josh McCarthy
Graduate Certificate in Social and Digital Media Management: Dr Adam Simpson
Graduate Certificate in Strategic Communication: Dr Adam Simpson
Graduate Diploma in Communication: Dr Adam Simpson
Master of Communication: Dr Adam Simpson
Master of Aboriginal Studies: Dr Adam Simpson
Doctor of Philosophy: Dr David Radford

Professional staff

Personal Assistant to HOS:  Aleksandra Vergulis
Senior Placement Officer: John Gartland
Administrative Assistant: Sophie Size
Team Leader (Teaching): Carol Brewitt
Senior Academic Services Officer (Teaching): Arna Eyers-White
Senior Academic Services Officer (Timetabling): Hayley Raven
Academic Services Officer: Lisa Jansen
Academic Services Officer: Rosie Paradiso
Team Leader (Research): Julie White
Senior Academic Services Officer: Dom Panagaris
Academic Services Officer: Janet Garland

Technical support staff

Senior Technical Officer: Andrei Gostin 
Technical Officer: Phil Van Hout
Technical Officer: Justin McGuiness

Academic staff

Anderson, Dr Sue - Lecturer: Indigenous Cultures and Australian Society
Bilsborow, Dr Carolyn - Lecturer: Media Arts
Biro, Dr Daniel - Lecturer: History & Global Politics
Crichton, Dr Jonathan - Program Director: Bachelor of Arts
Emery, Ms Susannah - Lecturer: Creative Industries
Fewster, Dr Russell - Lecturer: Drama and Performing Arts
Franklin, Prof Adrian - Professor: Creative Industries & Cultural Policy
Furlan, Dr Patrizia - Lecturer: Journalism
Gale, Assoc Prof Peter - Senior Lecturer: Aboriginal Studies
Glenny, Dr Leanne - Lecturer: Public Relations
Green, Prof Kerry - Program Director: Journalism
Heugh, Dr Kathleen - Associate Professor: Applied Linguistics
Hoenig, Dr Ron - Lecturer: Journalism
Hsu, Dr Eric - Lecturer: Sociology
Hutchison, Dr Ian - Lecturer: Film and TV
Hogarth, Dr Chris - Lecturer:  French
Jaworski, Dr Katrina - Senior Lecturer: Cultural Studies
Lewis, Dr Sally - Program Director: Bachelor of Marketing and Communication
Li, Ms Anne - Research Assistant: Applied Linguistics
Loechel, Ms Kate - Research Assistant:  Applied Linguistics
Luckman, Prof Susan - Professor: Cultural Studies
MacFarlane, Dr Kit - Lecturer: Creative Writing
Main, Dr Wilson - Lecturer: Media Arts
Marriott, Dr Phil - Lecturer: Electronic Computer & Information Management
Mason, Dr Bonita - Senior Lecturer: Journalism
McCarthy, Dr Joshua -  Program Director: Media Arts
O'Connor, Prof Justin - Professor:  Cultural Economy
O'Neil, Dr Fiona - Lecturer: Applied Linguistics
Page, Dr Sue - Senior Lecturer: Writing and Creative Communication
Petrescu, Dr Ioana - Senior Lecturer: English and Creative Writing
Radford, Dr David - Lecturer: Sociology/Research Degree Coordinator
Raynes, Dr Cameron - Lecturer: Aboriginal Studies
Richards, Dr Stuart - Lecturer: Screen Studies
Roberts, Dr Rosie - Lecturer: Cultural Studies
Scarino, Assoc Prof Angela - Director: Research Centre for Languages and Cultures
Sharma, Ms Neelu - Lecturer: Journalism/First Year Coordinator
Simpson, Dr Adam - Program Director: Postgraduate programs
Sinclair, Dr Karen - Program Director: Bachelor of Arts (Indigenous Cultures and Australian Society)
Snowden, Dr Collette - Senior Lecturer: Public Relations
Spry, Dr Damien - Lecturer: Communication and Media
Somerfield, Ms Rebecca - Program Director: Bachelor of Communication and Media
Stubbs, Dr Ben - Senior Lecturer: Professional Writing (Journalism)
Viljoen, Dr Jeanne-Marie - Lecturer: Cultural & Media Studies & English
Walker, Dr Amelia - Lecturer: Creative Writing/Children's Literature/First Year Coordinator
Walton, Dr Saige- Senior Lecturer: Screen Studies
West, Dr Brad - Senior Lecturer: Sociology
Whiting, Dr Sam - Lecturer: Creative Industries


Adjunct staff

Prof Claire Woods

Emeritus Professor

Prof Suzanne Franzway

Emeritus Professor

Prof Ian Richards

Adjunct Professor

Prof Jon Stratton

Adjunct Professor

Prof Tony Liddicoat

Adjunct Professor

AsPr Peter Bishop

Adjunct Associate Professor

Dr Sharon Mascall-Dare

Adjunct Associate Professor

AsPr Steven Talbot

Adjunct Associate Professor

AsPr Gerry Bloustien

Adjunct Associate Professor

Prof James Morrison
Head of School: James Morrison Academy/ VC Prof Fellow


Dr David Lundberg

Adjunct Senior Lecturer

Dr Isobel Grave

Adjunct Senior Lecturer

Dr Michelle Kohler

Adjunct Senior Lecturer

Dr Rodney Fopp

Adjunct Senior Lecturer

Dr Vicki Crowley

Adjunct Senior Lecturer

Prof Denise Wood

Adjunct Senior Research Fellow

Dr Jean Duruz

Adjunct Senior Research Fellow

Dr Nigel Starck

Adjunct Senior Research Fellow

Dr Pamela Schulz

Adjunct Senior Research Fellow

Ms Diana Chessell

Adjunct Research Fellow

Dr David Sweet

Adjunct Research Associate