"New Possibilities for Sensing and Measurement using Photonics"

26 May 2017


P7-27 Playford Building
City East Campus

Professor Tanya Monro is Deputy Vice Chancellor: Research and Innovation and an ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow, University of South Australia.

Professor Monro's research is in the field of photonics, with a focus on sensing, lasers and new classes of optical fibres.  She has served as inaugural Director: Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing, and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics, at the University of Adelaide

Tanya’s awards include: Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research, the Bragg Gold Medal (best Physics PhD in Australia), South Australia’s “Australian of the Year”, Scopus Young Researcher of the Year, South Australian Scientist of the Year, and the Prime Minister’s Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year.

Tanya is Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (AAS), the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE), and serves as a member on elite boards such as the Prime Minister’s Commonwealth Science Council and the Commonwealth Science and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO).

Search for an event

View events by

Event type
Academic units

Areas of study and research

+ Click to minimise