Search for

Scholarships and prizes

The Zero Waste SA Research Centre sd+b Student Prize 2013

The Zero Waste SA Research Centre sd+b Student Prize 2013 recipient is Mr Ken Kondo Long. He is undertaking a Master of Sustainable Design in the School of Art, Architecture & Design. His research topic is ‘Fostering ecological awareness through the design of the urban environment’. Ken is the second recipient of this student prize, value $2,000. Congratulations.

The recipient of the inaugural  sd+b Centre Student Prize in 2012, was Aida Leon (pictured centre with Dr Marcia Hewitt (ZWSA) and Prof Steffen Lehmann). 

Pam Keating Memorial Scholarship

Here's a $10,000 opportunity to make your design and sustainability dreams a reality

The Zero Waste SA Pam Keating Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of Pam Keating, a noted environmentalist and waste management expert who passionately believed in the importance of reducing waste and its impact on our environment. 

Pam Keating Scholarship 2013

The $10,000 scholarship, paid in instalments, is available to full-time and part-time UniSA students undertaking an Honours or Masters program with a thesis that falls within one of the Centre’s priority research areas.

The recipient will also receive an offer of mentoring and possible paid employment at Zero Waste SA during the summer break.


Left to right: Ian Harvey (ZWSA), Maddy Hughes,
Prof Steffen Lehmann (UniSA)


The Pam Keating Memorial Scholarship is awarded on the basis of academic merit and an interview. 

Applicants must provide a written statement with their application outlining:

  • the research to be undertaken
  • their career goals and future plans
  • how the scholarship will help them achieve their ambitions

 A project summary from the applicant's supervisor containing a detailed description of the project and its outcomes should also be included.

The recipient must be able to be a positive ambassador for Zero Waste SA. They will be offered six hours of informal mentoring or in-kind assistance by Zero Waste SA.

Further information

For further information on the scholarship and how to apply, please visit Scholarships at UniSA or contact:

Helen Black
Development Coordinator (Fundraising)
t: (08) 8302 0974
f: (08) 8302 0970

sd+b Scholarship for PhD Studies

Scholarship recipient 2011 is John Devlin.

John is undertaking a PhD in the sd+b Centre on ‘Smart Cities: Opportunities for the optimisation of human interaction with natural and urban systems.





Past recipients

The Zero Waste SA Research Centre sd+b Student Prize

2012  Ms Aida Leon

'Innovative strategies to foster resilience within high vulnerable Australian suburbs.'

Pam Keating Memorial Scholarship

2013  Ms Maddy Hughes, Bachelor of Interior Architecture (Honours)

‘Adaptive Reuse of Heritage Buildings: A Strategy for Sustainability in the City of Adelaide’

2012  Mr Matthew Hoffmann, Bachelor of Civil Engineering (Honours)

'Waste avoidance: Re-using rubber from scrap tyres as concrete aggregate.' 

2011  Ms Kerrie Bell, Bachelor of Sustainable Environments (Honours) 

'Design of behavioural interventions for maximising visitor compliance with a food waste separation scheme in a caravan park.’

2010  Mr Bill Page, Bachelor of Management (Honours) 

'Social Marketing in Schools: Development, Implementation & Evaluation.’

Areas of study and research

+ Click to minimise