Our advisory board

Staying relevant to fast-changing industry and ensuring our teaching remains at the cutting edge of technology is what makes our school what it is. One of the important ways we do this is through our Advisory Board.

The board is a committee of senior external representatives from relevant industry, professional bodies, program and research partners and University staff with the expertise relevant to the program specialisations offered by the School.  The board is chaired by an external member of industry.

The members provide advice and input to:

  • Programs and courses from an industry and employer perspective
  • Quality assurance and improvement processes
  • Strategic directions in the areas of teaching and research activities 

For further information please contact the School Office.

Industry members

Mr Ray Blight (Chair)
Alcidion Corporation Pty Ltd

Dr Fred Bowden
Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO)

Mr Dean Bowley
Program Manager, Australian Bureau Statistics  

Mr Shane Cathcart 
Assistant Director, State Library of SA

Mr Reg Coutts
Coutts Communications

Ms Jodie Coventry
Account Manager, CISCO 

Mr Peter Crosby
Collins Planning and Support Manager, ASC Pty Ltd

Mr Chris Dowling
Business Development Manager, Tata  Consultancy Services 

Mr Mike Duhne
Government Business Manager, CISCO

Mr Chris Ford
CIO, SA Power Networks  

Mr Simon Froude
Manager, State Records of SA

Ms Karin Geraghty
CIO, Department of Environment Water and Natural Resources

Mr Peter Grant
CIO, Queensland Government CIO

Mr Brian Hillier
Director, Telstra Business at Telstra

Mr Phil Ingerson
Senior Advisor and Educator (Executive level) – ICT matters

Mr Michael Kinnane
Director, EY

Mr Rob Krizman

Mr Andrew McCauley
Saab Systems Australia Pty Ltd

Mr Stuart Mules
Mercer Human Resource Consulting

Mr Dino Rossi
Chief Technologist, DXC Technology

Dr Eva Balan-Vnuk
State Director, South Australia, Microsoft 

Internal members

Professor Simon Beecham
Pro Vice Chancellor

Professor Brenton Dansie
Head of School
School of ITMS

Mrs Catherine Jordan
School Manager
School of ITMS

Professor John Boland 
Centre for Industrial and Applied Mathematics  

Dr Nina Evans
Associate Head: Teaching and Learning 
School of ITMS

Professor Jiuyong Li
Associate Head: Research
School of ITMS 

Associate Professor Gottfried Lechner
Centre Director
Institute for Telecommunications Research

Professor Stan Miklavcic
Phenomics and Bioinformatics Research Centre  

Professor Markus Stumptner
Advanced Computing Research Centre

Dr Stewart Von Itzstein
Acting Associate Head: Academic Programs 

Areas of study and research

+ Click to minimise