Research groups

For more information about the research groups within the School of Health Sciences, please visit the Research in the School page

Staff contact details

Please click on the name of the staff member below to visit their home page, where you will find contact details plus information on qualifications, teaching and research interests and areas of specialisation.

Associate Professor Shylie Mackintosh
Head of School

Ms Sally Nimmo
PA to Head of School

Associate Head of School: Academic

Associate Professor Marie Williams
Associate Head of School: Research

Ms Raewyn Todd
School Manager

Ms Ashlee Munro
Industry Liaison Officer

Academic Staff

Master of Research Degrees

Dr Catherine Paquet, Program Director: Master of Research Degrees

Clinical Exercise Physiology

Common Courses

Health Sciences

Human Movement & Exercise Sport Science

Mr Scott Polley, Program Director: Human Movement 

Dr Alyson Crozier, Program Director: Exercise and Sport Science

Mr Scott Adams, Program Director: Bachelor of Health Science (Nutrition and Exercise) UniSA Online

Professor Jon Buckley, Professor (SIHR HLS) and Director: Alliance for Research in Exercise, Nutrition and Activity (ARENA)

Professor Kevin Norton, Professor (SIHR HLS)

Professor Timothy Olds, Professor (SIHR HLS)

Associate Professor Jim Dollman, Associate Professor SIHR HLS

Associate Professor Alison Coates, Associate Professor (SIHR HLS)

Dr John Arnold, Lecturer: Exercise Science

Dr Clint Bellenger, Lecturer in Human Movement, Exercise and Sport Science

Dr Graeme Carrick-Ranson, Senior Lecturer in Exercise and Sport Science

Dr Maarten Immink, Senior Lecturer: Human Movement

Dr Robert Crowther, Senior Lecturer: Human Movement

Mr Patrick Faulkner, Lecturer: Human Movement

Dr Max Nelson, Lecturer: Exercise Science

Dr Carmel Nottle, Lecturer in Human Movement (Growth and Motor Development)

Dr Katja Siefken, Lecturer in Sociology of Health, Sport and Physical Activity

Dr Grant van der Ploeg, Exercise Scientist: Applied Sport Science 

Dr Tom Wycherley, Lecturer: Exercise Science 

Medical Radiation U/G

Medical Sonography PG

Occupational Therapy

Physiotherapy P/G

Physiotherapy U/G

Dr Gisela Van Kessel, Program Director: Physiotherapy (Undergraduate) 

Associate Professor Saravana Kumar, Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy

Associate Professor Lorraine Sheppard, Associate Professor

Dr Rose Boucaut, Senior Lecturer

Dr Katia Ferrar, Lecturer

Dr Caroline Fryer, Lecturer in Physiotherapy

Dr Michelle Guerin, Lecturer in Physiotherapy 

Dr Kylie Johnston, Senior Lecturer

Dr Sophie Lefmann, Clinical Educator Physiotherapy

Dr Maureen McEvoy, Lecturer

Dr Anna Phillips, Lecturer in Physiotherapy

Dr Margarita Tsiros, Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy

Dr Jeric Uy, Lecturer in Physiotherapy (Rehabilitation)

Dr Julie Walters, Lecturer in Physiotherapy

Dr Emily Ward, Lecturer in Physiotherapy (Paediatrics)

Ms Alison Bell, Lecturer

Ms Tam Dandridge, Lecturer in Physiotherapy (Neurological Rehabilitation)

Mr Ian Fulton, Lecturer

Ms Katrina Li, Lecturer in Physiotherapy

Ms Narelle Ryan, Lecturer in Physiotherapy (Paediatrics) 

Ms Tanya Simmonds, Lecturer in Physiotherapy 

Mr Harry Truong, Lecturer in Physiotherapy (Musculoskeletal) 


Population Health

Administrative Staff

Academic Services (Academic)

Academic Services (Research)

Clinical Operations

Technical Services

Research Groups Administration

Alliance for Research in Exercise, Nutrition and Activity (ARENA)

Dr Catherine Yandell, Senior Technical Officer

Ms Emily Vaughton, Administrative Officer

Ms Kate Dyer, Clinical Trails Coordinator

Body in Mind

Ms Tracy Jones, Administrative Officer: Research

Centre for Population Health Research (CPHR) - Cancer Epidemiology & Population Health

Ms Bridget Powell, Administrative Assistant: Research

Centre for Population Health Research (CPHR) - Health Economics & Social Policy Group

Ms Judith Burgemeister, Personal Assistant to the Research Chair: Health Economics

Centre for Population Health Research (CPHR) - Nutritional and Genetic Epidemiology

Ms Julie Browne, Administrative Officer (CPHR)

Centre for Population Health Research (CPHR) - Patient Safety and Healthcare Human Factors

Dr Louise Wiles, Project Manager: Research

Ms Claire Gardner, Technical Manager: CareTrack Australia

Centre for Population Health Research (CPHR) - Public Health

Dr Deborah Van Gaans, Manager: Research Data

Centre for Population Health Research (CPHR) - Public Health and Population Health and Nutrition

Ms Julie Browne, Administrative Officer (CPHR)

International Centre for Allied Health Evidence

Ms Debro Thaw, Academic Services Officer


Areas of study and research

+ Click to minimise