Our people

Browse staff at the School of Communication, International Studies and Languages.

School leadership

Professor Clayton MacKenzie, Head of School
+618 8302 4854 (Personal Assistant)

Associate Professor Jodie George, Associate Head of School: Teaching
+618 8302 4519

Associate Professor Brad West, Associate Head of School: Research
+618 8302 4545

Ms Kerri Maccini, School Manager
+618 8302 4181

Program Directors


Bachelor of Arts: Dr Jonathan Crichton 

Bachelor of Arts (Deputy Program Director): Dr Jodie George 

Bachelor of Communication and Media: Dr Collette Snowden

Bachelor of Journalism and Professional Writing: Ms Patrizia Furlan

Bachelor of Media Arts: Ms Jenny Webber


Bachelor of Arts (Honours): Professor Clayton MacKenzie


Graduate Diploma in Public Relations: Dr Leanne Glenny

Master of Arts (Journalism): Prof Ian Richards

Doctor of Philosophy: Associate Professor Brad West

Professional staff

Personal Assistant to HOS:  Aleksandra Vergulis

Project Manager: Brad Gascoigne

Team Leader (Teaching): Brad Gascoigne

Senior Academic Services Officer (Teaching): Arna Eyers-White

Senior Placement Officer: John Gartland

Academic Services Officer: Di Levin

Academic Services Officer: Dom Panagaris

Academic Services Officer: Di Banbury

Academic Services Officer:  Linda Waldrum

Academic Services Officer: Rosie Paradiso

Team Leader (Research): Julie White

Senior Academic Services Officer: Martina Nist

Academic Services Officer: Anna Dinys

Administrative Assistant: Tova Worroll

Administrative Assistant: Henry Taylor

Technical support staff

Senior Technical Officer: Andrei Gostin 

Technical Officer: Andrew Shanks 

Technical Officer: Peter Nielsen

Technical Officer: Justin McGuiness

Academic staff

Anderson, Dr Heather - Lecturer: Journalism

Bilsborow, Dr Carolyn - Lecturer: Media Arts

Biro, Dr Daniel - Lecturer: International Studies

Burley, Ms Kim - Lecturer: Public Relations

Crichton, Dr Jonathan - Program Director: Languages and Intercultural Communication

Curnow, Dr Tim - Program Director: Honours

Diallo, Dr Ibrahima - Lecturer: French Studies

Fewster, Dr Russell - Lecturer: Drama and Performing Arts

Fopp, Dr Rodney - Senior Lecturer: Sociology

Fujiwara, Dr Yuhiko - Lecturer: Japanese

Furlan, Ms Patrizia - Lecturer: Journalism

George, Dr Jodie - Deputy Program Director - Bachelor of Arts

Glenny, Dr Leanne - Lecturer: Public Relations

Godwin, Ms Rebecca - Lecturer: Media Arts

Grave, Dr Isobel - Lecturer: Italian Studies

Green, Prof Kerry - Professor: Journalism

Heugh, Dr Kathleen - Associate Professor: Applied Linguistics

Hoenig, Dr Ron - Lecturer: Journalism

Hutchison, Mr Ian - Lecturer: Film and TV Production

Hogarth, Dr Chris - Lecturer:  French

Jackson-Bowers, Eleanor - Research Assistant

Jaworski, Dr Katrina - Senior Lecturer: Cultural Studies

Kaleva, Dr Daniela - Lecturer: Music

Khan, Dr Shamsul - Senior Lecturer: International Studies

Kohler, Dr Michelle - Research Fellow

Lewis, Dr Sally - Lecturer: Communications

Liddicoat, Prof Tony - Professor: Applied Linguistics

Longo, Mr Tommaso - Lecturer: Media Arts

Luckman, Prof Susan - Professor: Cultural Studies

Lundberg, Dr David - Senior Director: International Studies

MacFarlane, Dr Kit - Lecturer: Creative Writing

Main, Mr Wilson - Lecturer: Media Arts

Marriott, Dr Phil - Lecturer: Electronic Computer & Information Management

MacKenzie, Prof Clayton, Head of School: Communication, International Studies & Languages

McCarthy, Dr Joshua -  Lecturer: Communication (Digital Media)

O'Callaghan, Dr Terry - Senior Lecturer: International Studies

Page, Dr Sue - Senior Lecturer: Writing and Creative Communication

Petrescu, Dr Ioana - Senior Lecturer: Professional Writing

Porter, Prof Elisabeth - Professor: International Studies

Richards, Prof Ian - Professor: Journalism

Scarino, Assoc Prof Angela - Director: Research Centre for Languages and Cultures

Scrimgeour, Mr Andrew - Research Fellow: Linguistics

Scutter, Dr Sheila - Research Assistant

Sharma, Ms Neelu - Lecturer: Journalism

Simpson, Dr Adam - Senior Lecturer: International Studies

Snowden, Dr Collette - Program Director: Media Management

Somerfield, Ms Rebecca - Lecturer: Communication

Stubbs, Dr Ben - Lecturer: Professional Writing (Journalism)

Tudini, Dr Enza - Senior Lecturer: Language and Culture

Walton, Dr Saige- Lecturer: Screen Studies

Webber, Mrs Jenny - Lecturer: Digital Media

West, Dr Brad - Associate Head of School: Research/Senior Lecturer: Sociology

Yoshida, Dr Reiko - Lecturer: Japanese

Adjunct staff

Bishop, Assoc Prof Peter

Chiro, Dr Giancarlo

Crowley, Dr Vicki

Franzway, Professor Suzanne

Gibb, Dr Heather

Kurzel, Mr Frank

Schulz, Dr Pamela

Skrebels, Dr Paul

Starck, Dr Nigel

Tran, Assoc Prof My-Van

Wood, Assoc Prof Denise

Areas of study and research

+ Click to minimise