Joan Brewer Wing

The Joan Brewer Wing of the Colin Thiele Library at Magill, was named in 2005 for Joan Brewer AM (BA, DipEd, MLib, FACE, FALlA) in continuing recognition by the University of South Australia of her achievements in the fields of education, librarianship and women's affairs at both state and national levels. From 27 March 1991 until its closure at the end of 2004 the Library of the Underdale campus of the University of South Australia was named the Joan Brewer Library.

Mrs Brewer was the first Librarian of a predecessor of the University of South Australia, the Western Teachers College, and established the first Department of Librarianship at Adelaide Teachers College. Her many public offices included membership of the Federal Government's National Women's Consultative Council and the Higher Education Advisory Committee of the Affirmative Action Agency, presidency of the South Australian Branch of the Library Association of Australia and membership of the Association's Board of Education. She was also a member of the Libraries Board of SA, the SA Library Advisory Committee, and the Council of the SA Institute of Technology. Joan Brewer was made a Member of the Order of Australia in January 1985 in recognition of her services to education and librarianship.



Using the Library

Areas of study and research

+ Click to minimise