Honorary Doctorates

Council confers the degree of Doctor of the University in recognition of distinction by the person in public service or service to the University, or in recognition of distinguished contribution by the person in a field of academic endeavour and in accordance with University policy Honorary Degrees.  

View past award recipients.

2017 award recipients

Dr Ian Gould AM

Ian Gould Dr Ian Gould AM served as Chancellor of the University of South Australia during one of
 the University’s most significant periods of growth and gave eight years of distinguished
 service including as Convenor of the Universities Chancellors’ Council.

 A geologist by profession, Dr Gould has 40 years’ experience in the minerals industry in
 diverse and senior positions, mainly within the CRA and Rio Tinto Group, in which he
 was Group Executive for Exploration and later for Research and Development before
 becoming the Managing Director Australia, and then Group Managing Director for
 Normandy Mining Ltd.

In 2007 Dr Gould became a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, and in the same year was awarded the Institute Medal by the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, of which he is also a Fellow and past President.

In June 2011, Dr Gould was named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for service to the mining industry, particularly as a proponent of environmental management, to education as Chancellor of the University of South Australia, and to the community. He has also Chaired the Councils of the Royal Flying Doctor Service, St Andrews Hospital and the Institute of Marine Science.

Dr Gould actively supports UniSA students by giving his time and sharing his knowledge, and through his personal contribution, the Ian Gould Experimental Science Grant. The grant encourages Honours and PhD students to undertake hands on research and to engage actively in experimental work and collect and analyse their own data for thesis work in any area of science, including social sciences.

Read citation (pdf)

Mrs Janet Holmes à Court AC

Janet Holmes a Court Janet Holmes à Court is owner of the Janet Holmes à Court Collection, an
 internationally renowned collection of more than 4,000 registered artworks that
 documents many areas of Australian cultural significance.  She is Chairman of the
 Australian Children’s Television Foundation and the West Australian Symphony
 Orchestra. She is a Board Member of the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM),
 the Australian Major Performing Arts Group (AMPAG), the Chamber of Arts and Culture
 WA (CACWA), the Australian Urban Design Research Centre (AUDRC), the Australian
 Institute of Architects Foundation (AIAF) and the New York Philharmonic International
 Advisory Board. Mrs Holmes à Court is also a member of the Centenary Trust for
 Women Board of Advisors at the University of Western Australia and State Buildings
 Advisory Board, Western Australia.

She is a science graduate from the University of Western Australia and taught science for a number of years before working more closely with family business matters. She has won numerous awards recognising her contribution to the community and to business, including a Companion of the Order of Australia.

Read citation (pdf)

Emeritus Professor MaryAnn Bin-Sallik AO

MaryAnn Bin-Sallik Emeritus Professor Mary Ann Bin-Sallik AO has played a monumental role in the
 advancement of Aboriginal studies. She has been part of government committees of
 inquiry into Aboriginal employment; discrimination in employment; and the forced
 removal of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children.

 Professor Bin-Sallik spent 17 years in the health care sector. She was the first
 Aboriginal resident of Darwin to graduate as a nurse and then became first Indigenous
 worker in Australian higher education. She was the first Indigenous Australian to earn a
 doctorate from Harvard University in Boston, and that passion for education brought her
 back to Australia where she was appointed Senior Lecturer in Aboriginal Studies at the
 South Australian College of Advanced Education. She became Head of the School of Aboriginal Studies and Teacher Education at the University of South Australia in 1990.

She has been an active researcher into contemporary Aboriginal identity in Broome and Darwin and the influences of Asian migration in those areas. She has continued her advocacy for Indigenous participation in higher education and has served on numerous national and state committees.

Emeritus Professor Bin-Sallik has been a member of the National Population Council, and the Council of the Institute of Aboriginal Studies (now the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies). She was a Co-Commissioner for the Human Rights Commissions' Enquiry into the Forced Removal of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children. In 2016 she was named as the National Aborigines Day Observance Committee - NAIDOC’S  - female Elder of the year. In the Australia Day Awards early in 2017 Emeritus Professor MaryAnn Bin-Sallik was awarded an Order of Australia for her passion for education and for the participation of Aboriginal people in that education. 

Read citation (pdf)

Mr Thomas Keneally AO

Thomas Keneally Award-winning Australian author Thomas (Tom) Keneally is one of Australia's most
 prolific and best known novelists. As the multi-award-winning author of more than 30
 novels, dramas, screenplays and books of non-fiction, he is also one of its most
 distinguished. In 1982 he won the Booker Prize for Schindler's Ark, which was made
 into the Academy Award-winning film Schindler's List. His novels The Chant of Jimmy
, Gossip from the Forest and Confederates were all short-listed for the
 Booker Prize, while Bring Larks and Heroes and Three Cheers for the Paraclete won the
 Miles Franklin Award.

 Born in Sydney in 1935, Tom studied for the priesthood as a young man and then
 began a career in school teaching before his literary success enabled him to become a full-time writer. In addition to the Booker Prize and the Miles Franklin Awards, Tom Keneally has also won the Los Angeles Book Prize, the Royal Society of Literature Prize, the Scripter Award of the University of Southern California, the Mondello International Prize and the Helmerich Prize (U.S.). Tom Keneally's history of Irish convictism, The Great Shame and The Commonwealth of Thieves about the penal origins of Australia were both published in all the English language markets. He has also published three volumes of A History of Australians and the story has now reached 1970. More recently he has published Three Famines, a narrative history of famine, and the novel, The Daughters of Mars. Thomas Keneally holds a number of national and international honorary doctorates. In 1983 he received the Order of Australia (AO) for his services to Australian Literature and in 1997 was declared one of Australia's ‘100 Living Treasures'.

Read citation (pdf)

Areas of study and research

+ Click to minimise